Entertainment

In addition to boating related events, Essex Yacht Club hosts a variety of social events and activities throughout the year. The Entertainment Committee plans and organizes the two largest events of the calendar year: the annual Founder’s Day Celebration in the spring and the Commodore’s Cocktail Party in the fall. Also, the committee coordinates with the Chef to provide seasonal events to promote camaraderie among members for onshore activities.

The EYC calendar reflects these Club planned events as well as racing, cruising and other activities and special functions that are scheduled. 


Bridge Club
Meets online every Wednesday and Friday.
Contact Pat Mather


Mahjong
New players are encouraged to get in touch
Contact Lois Thomsen


Book Club
Meets virtually the third Thursday of the month. Contact Lois Thomsen

 


​On the Horizon

April

Any Random Day Pop-Up Gatherings

On unseasonably warm days, we’ll text you to pop by the Club. Outdoors.
Sure, wear your party pants or whatever you deem says Fun!

For others' safety, please wear a mask until seated, eating food. And how yummy is that, any way!

Contact Terry Klee

View Poster
 


 

April 29, Thursday, 6 p.m.

Women's Sailing Info & Sign Up

Every Monday, women meetup for Ideal-18 sailing instruction, easy breezes, and meals afterward.  

Enjoy this info party either by zoom or at the Club. Complimentary light fare served. Zoomers, you can receive yours, curbside takeout.  R.S.V.P. 
 

RSVP

 


Rites of Spring Celebration

Burning of the Socks

 

Saturday May 8  5-7pm

View Poster

 


 

Founder's Day

Saturday May 15th, 6 pm

View Details
Founders_Day_2021_v2_1
View Menu   
  Founders_Menu_2021






 


 


69th Wetherill Overnight Regatta Reception

Sunday, May 23, 5 p.m.

View Poster 


Wetherill_2021_-_Spyglass_-_FOR_GUESTS



Memorial Day

Memorial Day Weekend Commodore's Brunch

Sunday, May 30,
10a.m.-Noon

View Poster


 


Live Entertainment 
June 18


First Annual EYC Dog Show 
Saturday June 26


Meet Up By Land, Stonington with Boaters Overnight Cruise
Wednesday June 30

 

 

Meet Up by Ferry Block Island with Boaters Overnight Cruise
Saturday July 2


Fourth of July Club Celebration
Sunday July 4



Ideal 18 Family Fun Day
  Sunday August 15 1:30


Meet Up by Land, Mystic with Boaters Overnight Cruise
Saturday Septmber 4


The Newport Boatshow Meet Up
Thursday September 16


More Wheels than Keels Car Rally
September TBD


Frostbite Begins
Soup and Sip Reception

Friday October 3


Commodore's Ball & Cocktails
Saturday November 6


Annual Meeting
Friday December 4


Frostbite Ends Soup & Sip Reception
Saturday December 5


New York City Bus Trip
Wednesday December 8


Children's Santa Visit
Saturday December 11


Holiday Party
Friday December 17


New Year's Eve
Friday December 31

 



 

Event Registration